top of page

Outdoor Nationals and Team USA Trials 2018

The Team USA trials for 2018 took place a month earlier than in previous years, as the world championships were much earlier. I competed in the Junior Men division, for the second to last time. The track races happened under the dome, guaranteeing good track conditions for the racing. I took 5th in the first race, the points race, but then fell out of the top spots in the next few races. On road, with a tricky course, I did one better and got 4th in the road points race. By the end of the competition, I was in a position to make Team USA. I needed third in the last race, the 20k elimination, in order to make it. I ended up getting 7th, and missed the spot.

Overall, ODN went well for me. I improved greatly from last year, and earned a spot on the National Team, which is part of Team USA, but does not travel to worlds. I hope to improve the same amount next year and make the team confidently.

bottom of page